Who We Are

Who We Are

The 2016 Committee is the successor to the National Draft Ben Carson for President Committee. The latter was formed in August 2013 by John Philip Sousa IV, great-grandson of the renowned composer of “The Stars and Stripes Forever,” to draft Dr. Carson to run for the Republican nomination for president in 2016.

Following the success of the draft committee and announcement by Dr. Carson of an official exploratory committee, the National Draft Ben Carson for President Committee transitioned to The 2016 Committee. Because of Federal Election Commission regulations, the draft committee could no longer use Dr. Carson’s name in the committee’s title.

The 2016 Committee’s mission is to raise support and awareness of Dr. Carson’s candidacy and organize a grassroots army of activists to propel Dr. Carson through the nomination process and into the White House.


Photo of John Philip Sousa IV

John Philip Sousa IV

National Chairman

John is the only living direct descendant of John Philip Sousa. He served in the Air Force for four years and currently serves as honorary chairman and board member of the Enduring Freedom, Killed in Action Fund. John Philip Sousa, IV is passionate about helping to stop the misdirection the country is taking. He is committed to doing what he can to ensure that the republic thrives.

Photo of Bill Saracino

Bill Saracino

National Director

Bill is an experienced communications expert and political campaigner, who has worked on more than 75 legislative and congressional campaigns and directed more than $15 million in independent expenditure efforts. As The 2016 Committee’s National Director, Bill oversees volunteers and plans events for the Committee throughout the western United States from his home base in California.

Photo of Chuck Muth

Chuck Muth

Communications Director

Chuck has an extensive background in politics and public policy, and is a long-time political activist, author, speaker and blogger in Nevada. As one of the most well respected voices in the conservative movement, Chuck brings a wealth of experience to The 2016 Committee communications team.

Regional Directors

Photo of Tina Goff

Tina Goff

Midwest Regional Director

Photo of Sarah De La Cerda

Sarah De La Cerda

Northeast Regional Director

Photo of Eddie Facey

Eddie Facey

Western Regional Director

Photo of Steven Arnold

Steven Arnold

Southern Regional Director

Photo of Chris Horne

Chris Horne

Deputy Regional Director Southeast

Photo of Gray Delaney

Gray Delany

Deputy Regional Director Southwest

Group photo of a few of the Win Ben Win Team Members at a Leadership strategy session.

Group photo of a few of the Win Ben Win Team Members at a Leadership strategy session.
November 30, 2015 – December 1, 2015 - Alexandria, VA

The 2016 Committee organizes supporters across the country and educates the general public.